Children imitate us, even when they don’t know why they are doing it!

So I’ve noticed a few things about my little lady today. She has grown up so much this week, if that’s possible. She is 3 years old now and she loves to “read” and of course she can’t read so I read to her but she loves it.

This morning she jumped into my bed at something past stupid o clock and brought her books with her. There is nothing better than getting smacked in the face with “It wasn’t me said the monkey” first thing in your day and getting ordered to “read mommy”.

Since I was still asleep I told her to read to me and what ensued was one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen.

She sat with the book upside down in her lap, pointed at the pictures babling away making up her own story and then since she saw me do it, she licked her one finger as if to turn the page and then used the opposite hand to turn the page. It was the cutest thing ever. She did as I do when I’m reading a magazine except she had no idea why she was doing it.

I didn’t even realise she had seen me do that and it really made me think. We need to be careful with the words and actions we use around our children. They are watching us and learning how to be humans from us!! They will imitate us. So No pressure parents!

What do your children do that imitates you?

Add to the madness?

